Music through time – Work song

Work Songs

  • Slaves needed something to do in the fields. 
  • They were in the fields from sunrise to sunset.
  •  They would sing what they call work songs to keep themselves alert and entertained, but also to call attention to one another. 
  • These songs tell stories of how the slaves feel at that moment.  They also tell stories from back home.  Since the songs are just sung out in the fields they were never written down.  

 

  •  Our task was to listen to a song and write about the feeling that we felt and all that kind of stuff like that. after that, we were to add it to our blogs and then post it.   

 

Explain the feeling that you get when you listen to the song?

The feeling that I felt when I was listening to the song was an emotional feeling like feeling dismal and sorry for those that relate to the song and the things that are said in it.

 

What do you think the slaves are talking about in this song?

From what I heard in the song, they a relieved when the sun goes down because that means they get to stop working and have a break because from working all day and having very little time to take a break during the day they get to rest during the night.

The song that I had listened to.

I Be So Glad... When The Sun Goes Down - YouTube

3 thoughts on “Music through time – Work song

  1. I like how you put a lot of information into the text. You explained what the songs were used for really well.

  2. Kia Ora, Evelyn
    I love your blog post about the slave songs used during the Slave Trade era. After reading your blog post I understood your task was to listen to the song “I Be So Glad… When The Sun Goes Down” and write about the feelings you felt after hearing it. I like your blog posts because you always present a clear picture in the reader’s mind of how you are feeling. This was actively demonstrated during this post, for instance, when you wrote about you feeling the emotions of dismal and sorrow for the slaves I understood what you meant and you didn’t just say it made you feel sad. You went more in-depth and it felt truly genuine. I also enjoyed reading about your prediction of what the song was telling you. After listening to the song myself I could definitely agree when you said they are relieved when the sun goes down because that means they get to stop working and have a break. I also felt that this song expresses that comfort comes whenever the sunsets because you don’t have to work and you have the short opportunity to rest after a long day. Anyways this was an awesome blog post and informed me about how slave songs worked! During the song what did you think when hearing them working in the background? They almost created the rhythm of the music!

  3. kia ora Evelyn, your work is really good, you might need to fix up your last little paragraph to make it make sense a bit more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *